top of page
2018-09-05 04.45.20 1.jpg
2018-09-05 11.58.03 1.jpg

S  I  M  P  

L  Y

 A  

 

N

 

N

 

A

GOD DID SOMETHING REALLY COOL, LET ME TELL YA ABOUT IT

Great dill, last time I posted was April 2nd and honestly that feels like a lifetime ago! I've been so bad about uploading and sharing my posts with y'all - but I'm finally back and I'm so excited! So let's do a happy dance, make some smoothies (because those are my latest obsession right now), snuggle up, and have a chat. Basically, God did something super cool the other week and I've been dying to tell you guys about it! God is always up to amazing things, but sometimes you need to be reminded. Ya know what I mean? 

Do you remember that story in the Bible where the widow's jar of oil never ran out?   (2 Kings 4:1-7) 

God pretty much kept my jars full, or my gas tank. 

I have absolutely no idea what my problem was a couple weeks ago. Like, I was seriously forgetting everything and everyone around me. I'm not much of a morning person, but my job has forced it of me so I totally blame it on that. Normally, I am a super organized gal. I make my bed every morning, I organize my shelves and drawers all the time, I do laundry once to twice a week, I gather all my stuff for the next day and put them beside or inside my backpack, I light candles, and nobody's finding dust in my room. SERIOUSLY, I am super OCD. My classroom is pretty spiffy too, all my things are labeled and each book, paper, and clipboard have a home. But now, my bed gets made at 7:00pm no lie, my room doesn't belong on a magazine cover anymore, and guys, I found a layer of dust on my dresser! Adult life hit me hard. The week my story takes place had been the worst, I'm not ashamed to tell ya. Bad days happen and that's okay - One afternoon I bought an iced nirvana,  because coffee always makes a body feel better. I have this huge bulky wallet, so I took my debit card out and never put it back. I shoved it in by back pocket and the pair of shorts that the pocket belonged to, ended up in the laundry basket that night. It so happened that I was super low on gas the afternoon I bought my coffee, but I was ready to go home and just be a young teen again. ''I'll just buy some first thing tomorrow''   I thought, because I'm so smart I tell you.

The next morning, I woke up late and dashed out the door with a bag of croutons for breakfast. I had maybe two gallons of gas, but I figured that I would just get some at the gas station nearby. On my break I went to do just that, but guys, my debit card was all the way back home in my laundry hamper. I just sat there in my car digging out pennies and dimes, hoping that I had at least $5 in change. But of course I didn't, and that's the most helpless feeling you will ever feel. I remember debating whether or not to ask for money, call my parents and ask them to bring me my debit card, or call Triple AAA - I didn't like my options and literally spent an hour worrying about what to do. I felt a whisper in heart telling me to trust God, but during this time in life, trusting God does not come easily. I was doubtful and the thought of breaking down, on the side of the road, in the dark , with no one with me, was scary. 

J    u    s    t 

t     r     u  s   t

m   e

I felt those words in my soul and I just thought, okay. I will trust you, LORD. but if I break down......

By the time I was ready to go home, I had one gallon of gas left. The lights were already flashing their low on gas warning and I almost jumped out and asked for money. But you know, that voice kept telling me to trust. So I trusted (with a whole lot of worrying) and started for home. I live almost forty minutes from where I work and one gallon of gas runs out fast. Five minutes down the road, the dashboard flashed empty and I had no more gas. I expected the car to slow down, I even got ready to pull out my triple AAA card. I felt in a sense that trusting God, in a silly situation like mine, had been stupid and that I should've just set aside my pride and asked someone for money. But readers,

t h e        v a n      k e p t      g o i n g

It maintained it's speed, it did not slow down, it did not quit, God did not leave. I remember feeling very unsure of what I was seeing, I still had a whole buncha worry tugging at my heart. I didn't think it would last, I knew the van would break down before too long, and honestly it was just too good to be true. But the longer I went, the lighter my heart became, and before too long I was just the happiest gal alive. The LORD, in all His wonderful awesomeness, pushed me along.  Do you even know how crazy this all is?? Like, I drove 38 minutes with no gas. I told Jesus, God you've done so much for me, I can break down across the highway from home and I won't mind. Seriously  -  but the Lord took me to the gas station, THE GAS STATION IN MY TOWN.  As I pulled in, I felt the van slow and it came to a complete stop at the gas pump with my foot still pressing the gas pedal.

I ran home, grabbed my card, came back, and felt pretty darn special.  God, in all His greatness, took the time to make sure a tiny speck like me got home safely. To be loved and adored by such a great wonder as Him, to have someone like Him watching out for me, to have been assured by the LORD "don't worry babe, I've got you..." Dang, my trust in Him grew so much.  I felt so humbled, so sheepish that I had not trusted in the creator of the universe. Many told me that actually, it wasn't that huge of a deal that I had gotten home. Once the dashboards flashed empty, you're not really empty. You have at least a couple more gallons in there and blah blah blah blah blah blah blah. 

Guys, that was an all God thing. 

It was.

Guys, for reals - God is always watching out for His babies. His eyes are always on you, FOREVER for you. He's got your back. He is always there right beside you. The times that He feels the furthest away, He is actually by your side, waiting for you to take your eyes off of how you can fix everything and to instead look to Him to guide your steps. Darling, when we place our trust in God, we shall not be disappointed. Take His hand and He will guide you. He will get you home safe. He will not lead us astray.

 

"He performs miracles that cannot be fathomed,

miracles that cannot be counted"

(Job 5:9)


2018-09-05 04.45.23 1.jpg

I'M ANNA

Just living the life of a mom*ish* human that loves the children of the good good Father above. Slightly addicted to plants, even more addicted to coffee, and on the edge to being thoroughly in love with Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Give me one of those things and you'll be my child forever… play nice kids and let me tell ya what's on my mind.

welcome

Get my blog posts shot straight to your inbox

Email

recent posts you should probably look at

  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page