top of page
2018-09-05 04.45.20 1.jpg
2018-09-05 11.58.03 1.jpg

S  I  M  P  

L  Y

 A  

 

N

 

N

 

A

CHICAGO // I GOT CHOCOLATE COVERED COFFEE BEANS// CHINATOWN IS CRAZY // IT RAINED & SISTER GOT A


So last minute older sister and I took a road trip over to Chicago. We actually decided to go over text - something like:

Me: what are you doing next week?

Older sister: I don't know. I wanted to go to Chicago, but can't think of anyone to go with

Me: I'll go

Older sister: really?

Me: we can go this weekend

Older sister: k

So we went and honestly that was the craziest thing ever - like I packed my clothes the next day, the next morning she came over, we drank tea, and we left. WE GOT CURLY FRIES AT ARBY'S ON THE WAY THERE, guys curly fries are so good it's got to be illegal.

Basically the trip up there was food, squealing because *haha, we've never been to Chicago*, jamming, and me snoring because car rides make me sleepy. OH, and let me tell ya I AM THE WORSE PARKER EVER. I pulled into the gas station and my van's gas tank is on the left side, but of course older sis has hers on the right. So I do this weird snake crawl to the other side but am way too far from the pump. This group of people come out of the gas station and older sister says, "look at that guy in front, Anna. He's so happy, like he's laughing and grinning for no reason." she leans back, "hah, never mind. He's laughing at you."

Chicago basically is land of the coffee because there was a Starbucks on every street corner. I feel that we drank way too much coffee, but it was cold and windy so no judgment. Saturday had the rainiest morning ever but I've always been a sucker for rain, so call me Gene Kelly. Older sister however bought this adorable umbrella that five seconds down the road was blown inside out. I think that was the longest five minute walk to Starbucks ever, her umbrella was seriously blowing in the opposite direction every step we took. We finally burst into the coffee shop wet, breathless, and sister's dripping water everywhere it's embarrassing. We ordered our lattes and this blue headed dude right before I walk off with my coffee; snatches it out of my hand and says, "hey, I forgot to give you something!" he dumps three chocolate covered coffee beans on my cup and goes "something sweet and pretty for someone super sweet and pretty. Now you may take it back"

sister: ....................

sign: chocolate coffee beans $1 extra

My stomach has never felt so happy as it did when I drank my coffee. Oh, and I kinda locked myself in the bathroom and could't get out because I forgot the passcode. If you're ever in Chicago and need to go to the bathroom in Starbucks, the passcode is 1984. Never again will I forget that! Sister got this indian cappuccino and gosh, it was literally orange. It was actually really spicy and so interesting.

Sister is super into art so we went to the art museum and my favorite was definitely the sculptures, also there was the cutest figurine made

out of giant pink shells. Embarrassing things happened all over this trip, so I was not surprised when I looked down and saw blood coming out the back of my shoes. Basically, blisters bust and bleed and converse aren't the greatest thing to wear when you're walking a lot. *psshh, my life* ALSO, I love looking at pots and clay dishes. Call me strange, but I mentally put together my whole future kitchen with items out of the museum.

OKAY, MY FAVORITE THING OUT OF THE WHOLE TRIP WAS CHINATOWN.

Guys, chinatown is the uniquest lil' spot ever! There were so many shops, graffiti, lanterns, lights, and sushi. I bought so much stuff; my heart was literally so happy. I was born in China and it was so amazing to step into a tiny taste of that. I was so sad because I wanted to buy a bamboo plant so bad but they had to be in water 24/7 - so, I had to tell the bamboo stand goodbye. But I got a root tea that smells postively amazing and a kiwi chew candy that is the craziest feeling thing ever, I'm not sure I like it.

Halfway into Chinatown, sister realized she had to go to the bathroom, but see - there was nowhere to go! Like, every door had NO PUBLIC RESTROOMS taped to the windows and doors. I saw this bathroom in the back of this cafe and she shot straight for it before the cutest asian lady jumped in front of her and started screeching "buy? you buuuuy?" and seriously at this point, Sarah was saying yes to anything. While she was back there I was given a menu and told to order but oh my goodness, I cannot read chinese for the life of me. I stammered out this noodle chicken rice and found out I could only pay in cash.

I scrounged and was literally picking out pennies and dimes. Sarah came out and was given a menu too and oh my, I think she paid in all pennies and nickels. I honestly could not eat what I had ordered because *shhh, raw eggs were in that* Sister ate ten bites of her congee before realizing her order was making her sick. Needless to say, we were NOT given water. We were NOT smiled at. We were NOT bid a goodnight. I think the waitress felt betrayed because I couldn't speak my own language - #whydoesstufflikethisalwayshappentome

ohhhh, loooook at THIS

I've decided I want to live here, drink all the coffee at Peet's and Starbucks, eat all the nutella and pizza on East Ontario, and probably convert to box drumming on the street corners.

 

WHO WANTS TO RUN AWAY AND BE A STREET PERFORMER WITH ME??? // HAVE YOU EVER BEEN TO CHICAGO??? // WOULD YOU HAVE EATEN RAW EGGS WITH NOODLES?


2018-09-05 04.45.23 1.jpg

I'M ANNA

Just living the life of a mom*ish* human that loves the children of the good good Father above. Slightly addicted to plants, even more addicted to coffee, and on the edge to being thoroughly in love with Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Give me one of those things and you'll be my child forever… play nice kids and let me tell ya what's on my mind.

welcome

Get my blog posts shot straight to your inbox

Email

recent posts you should probably look at

  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page