top of page
2018-09-05 04.45.20 1.jpg
2018-09-05 11.58.03 1.jpg

S  I  M  P  

L  Y

 A  

 

N

 

N

 

A

↠ As The Blind // A Guy Named Cal


↠ When leading a blind person, you  have to change the way you look at things. Like dips or hills in the road, you have to be aware of them. Doorways and stationary objects, you must notice them and point them out. Being in crowded areas, you need to be able to communicate well. In the dark, you need to be the one clearing the walkway and making sure the person doesn't trip or fall. You have to be a good leader and a good communicator if you want to successfully be the eyes for the blind. Last week I learned all the above, though not as quickly as I would've liked. One of my campers this summer was named Cal, the sweetest of seventeen-year-olds. He was legally blind and after looking over his papers, I felt the LORD nudging me to choose him to counsel during Bridge Builders week. After I had met Cal and watched + listened to the way his parents led him; I thought to myself, "giiiiiirl, you got this."  Well, an hour after I said this to myself I ran Cal into a doorpost. I literally blow my mind, it's not even funny. I was a terrible leader the first two days, Cal was always tripping over something or running into that and there I was beside him saying, "Oh, there's a hole way up there, just so you know." I stunk! But Cal always trustingly slipped his hand back through my arm and let me continue leading him. He never complained about my leadership skills (or lack of), he never asked for a different counselor, and he always smiled in my direction with this look of confidence + trust in his green eyes. After the third day, I felt as though I was doing a better job. Cal hadn't tripped as much, I hadn't run him into anything, and he was starting to run a little and hop around. I suggested one afternoon that we go play basketball instead of the pool with the rest of our cabin; because I had heard that Cal had a fear of water. Cal, after listening to my idea, shook his head and said, "No. I want you to take me to the pool." Gaping a little, I led him to the pool and we took his shoes off and put a bright red life jacket on him. We could hear the water gushing out of the water buckets and nozzles, people screaming as they went down the water slides, voices chattering making a loud hum, and feet smacking against the hot pavement. I took Cal's hand and he let me lead him to the side of the pool. He squeezed my hand so tight as he dipped his toes in the water and let it splash over his feet. Five seconds later he was ready to get out and refused to get in the water the rest of the week. Even though it was sweltering outside, I never felt annoyed or upset that he didn't want to go swimming. I actually felt so honored. I felt honored that he had let me, the girl who led him into tables and doorposts, lead him into the water. He trusted me to keep him safe even though he couldn't see the things that were making so much noise. The amount of faith and trust Cal had in me has me blinking so hard.

Calling for Cals:

Throughout my weeks at a camp for the disabled, I kept thinking that I was here to teach + show God's love to the individuals spending their days here. Each second, each minute, each hour, and each day I am proved wrong. I am the one being taught and I am the one that am constantly being shown the loveliness, love, and mercy of Christ. 

We, as human beings, are blind in a spiritual sense. We aren't able to see the path before us, we aren't capable of going through life's complicated steps without stumbling, and we are constantly running into problems that seem impossible to get out of. We can't go anywhere without someone guiding us and warning us about the road ahead. Without a leader, we are left stumbling + groping in the darkness. Our leader's name is Jesus. He is always by our side, holding out His arm and wanting us to take it so He can lovingly guide us through life. As each generation arises, more and more people are starting to think that they don't need someone to guide them, also that they don't need anyone to lean on. They believe that they can make it on their own, they can take their own steps, and that they'll make it just fine and dandy in the end. Long story short, if I had a buzzer, I'd buzz them. That's just not how it works. Like a blind man can't walk without someone guiding them or a cane telling them what's in front of them, neither can man walk in life without Jesus. 

Like Cal, we must trust that Jesus knows what He's doing. We must believe that the plans He has for us are good. We must know that even though we may go through hard times, Jesus will still be with us. I tend to jerk away from God at times when the goings get tough, I become afraid because I don't trust that He's leading me in the right direction. I'm wrong. God is forever leading me in the right direction, I just have to choose to take His hand and follow. Jesus wants us to be a Cal. He instructs us in the Bible to follow Him and let Him guide our steps and direct our paths. He seriously wants us to let Him clear the path ahead of us. He wants us to take His hand and trust His leadership. He's waiting, y'all. He's waiting for you + me + everyone else in the world.

Readers, let's be Cals!

↠ scripture:

 

"Trust in the LORD with all your hearts and lean not in your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths." // Proverbs 3:5-6

"I will go before you and make the crooked places straight." // Isaiah 45:2

"Your word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path." // Psalm 119:110

"Do not be afraid for I am with you, don't be discouraged for am your God, I will strengthen you and I will help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand." // Isaiah 41:10

"You enlarge my steps under me, and my feet have not slipped." // Psalm 18:36

"The heart of a man plans His ways, but the LORD establishes his steps." // Proverbs 16:9

"For I know the plans I have for you says the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future." // Jeremiah 29:11

"The LORD makes firm the steps of those that delight in Him." // Psalm 37:23

"Direct my steps by Your word, and let no iniquity have dominion over me." // Psalm 199:133

"He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock making my steps secure." // Psalm 40:2


2018-09-05 04.45.23 1.jpg

I'M ANNA

Just living the life of a mom*ish* human that loves the children of the good good Father above. Slightly addicted to plants, even more addicted to coffee, and on the edge to being thoroughly in love with Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Give me one of those things and you'll be my child forever… play nice kids and let me tell ya what's on my mind.

welcome

Get my blog posts shot straight to your inbox

Email

recent posts you should probably look at

  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page